Is there a Disney Channel In the US In HD right now?
Global Justice Alliance

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is there a Disney Channel In the US In HD right now?

  1. #1
    Registered User Elite Member Cloud23465's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Chesapeake,Va
    Posts
    1,437

    Is there a Disney Channel In the US In HD right now?

    If not any clue if there will be in the near future. I know were going to get a HD Tv when we move with Digital cable but I have no clue if theres one out yet or not. I cant find any info on it from the cable company either.

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Cloud23465 View Post
    If not any clue if there will be in the near future. I know were going to get a HD Tv when we move with Digital cable but I have no clue if theres one out yet or not. I cant find any info on it from the cable company either.
    I know my uncle has an HD TV and it does get Disney Channel. However, I'm not sure if that means Disney itself is shown in HD.
    "There's an old Earth saying, Captain. A phrase of great power and wisdom. A consolation to the soul, in times of need: ALLONS-Y!"~Doctor Who

  3. #3
    Registered User Regular Member wallaceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Infront of a Computer
    Posts
    103
    from what i understand, Disney IS avalialble on HD TV's and plans, BUT Disney does not play any of it's shows in HD. the HD receiver simply plays it in normal TV mode, but streaches the signal to fit the TV, lowering the quality.

    what i like is that i have all the video of KP in HD, which is what i use to take my screen caps. Even after being converted into a avi or a MOV the file is still 900 Mb
    if you wanted the raw mpeg video, you need 5 gigs for just the 30 minutes of KP video :P
    KPFW Admin

  4. #4
    Registered User Elite Member Cloud23465's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Chesapeake,Va
    Posts
    1,437
    I need to do some research on weather things can be upgraded to HD or not... I Dunno if animations like KP can be done or not. I really dont know much about HD but I know that the quality from what i've seen is crazy clear and so sharp.

  5. #5
    Registered User Regular Member wallaceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Infront of a Computer
    Posts
    103
    http://bluray.highdefdigest.com/news..._2_Blu-ray/872

    Disney Confirms December Debut for 'High School Musical 2' Blu-ray


    now, if they do this, KP and other shows may not be too far behind.
    we can only hope that decide to make our kimmie on HD format!

    also
    http://www.netcot.com/thesite/2007/0...ey-channel-hd/
    DirecTV to Launch Disney Channel HD

    now this is big!
    KPFW Admin

  6. #6
    Registered User Elite Member Cloud23465's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Chesapeake,Va
    Posts
    1,437
    Nice. I know about the capacity of blu-ray is just crazy (mainly because I've though of getting a playstation 3) I sure that blu-ray will be the replacement for dvds. I think Hd dvd will end up like UMD and never really getting anywhere in the market.

  7. #7
    I have dish network high definition tv :P About 5% of the entire system is actually in HD (which looks really good on our tv). The rest is in standard definition, including the Disney Channel.

    I have a crappy signal, and would go with DirecTV for any real good picture quality. I have found it to be clearer while at friends houses.

    That bluray and HD Dvd battle, I am highly considering a player that can play both formats. HSM2 on Bluray will push me a lot closer to that player too :P

    Phil
    Philip Matuskiewicz
    Saveourshows.org and Kpfanworld.com Developer

  8. #8
    Administrator Honored Elder jeriddian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Posts
    8,000
    Quote Originally Posted by wallaceb View Post
    from what i understand, Disney IS avalialble on HD TV's and plans, BUT Disney does not play any of it's shows in HD. the HD receiver simply plays it in normal TV mode, but streaches the signal to fit the TV, lowering the quality.

    what i like is that i have all the video of KP in HD, which is what i use to take my screen caps. Even after being converted into a avi or a MOV the file is still 900 Mb
    if you wanted the raw mpeg video, you need 5 gigs for just the 30 minutes of KP video :P
    I'm curious, WallaceB, on how you managed to obtain the eps in HD. Once you do that, then of course you can simply run them through a video software editing program like Final Cut and simply render out the screen caps accordingly. But the initial video being in HD, that must come from Australia or something like that I bet.
    "Say the Word"

  9. #9
    Registered User Regular Member wallaceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Infront of a Computer
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by jeriddian View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by wallaceb View Post
    from what i understand, Disney IS avalialble on HD TV's and plans, BUT Disney does not play any of it's shows in HD. the HD receiver simply plays it in normal TV mode, but streaches the signal to fit the TV, lowering the quality.

    what i like is that i have all the video of KP in HD, which is what i use to take my screen caps. Even after being converted into a avi or a MOV the file is still 900 Mb
    if you wanted the raw mpeg video, you need 5 gigs for just the 30 minutes of KP video :P
    I'm curious, WallaceB, on how you managed to obtain the eps in HD. Once you do that, then of course you can simply run them through a video software editing program like Final Cut and simply render out the screen caps accordingly. But the initial video being in HD, that must come from Australia or something like that I bet.
    Exactly, you hit it on the head. i get it from a friend in Australia who uploads the video to me. I actually use my own software i wrote myself to take the screen caps. it s a fully automated system. i set it to take an image every second, and it saves it for me.
    here is a screen shot


    then my code on my website is self updating, if i add new images, the pages on my site instantly show the new images
    for more info on the HD from Australia, you can go here
    http://ronstoppable.proboards89.com/...ead=1184364306
    KPFW Admin

Similar Threads

  1. Disney Channel New Year's Eve
    By jeriddian in forum American Dragon: Jake Long
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2007, 11:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •