Odd Computer behavior ...
Global Justice Alliance

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Odd Computer behavior ...

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Honored Elder campy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Klein Innsbruck
    Posts
    7,349

    Odd Computer behavior ...

    I just fired up Microsoft Internet Explorer for the first time in weeks to look at something, and every time I selected a site from my Favorites menu, it would load in Firefox instead of IE. Anyone have any idea why that happened? (Firefox is my default browser.) I don't remember that ever happening before.

  2. #2
    Administrator Honored Elder jeriddian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Posts
    7,951
    Quote Originally Posted by campy View Post
    I just fired up Microsoft Internet Explorer for the first time in weeks to look at something, and every time I selected a site from my Favorites menu, it would load in Firefox instead of IE. Anyone have any idea why that happened? (Firefox is my default browser.) I don't remember that ever happening before.
    Hmmmm................not sure, but it may be exactly that, that Firefox is your default browser. I can't explain why it didn't do it before, but it would appear some parameter in the OS has changed and any preselected sites are now automatically defaulted to open in the default browser. It could have come as part of your automatic updates that regularly come with the OS, but I can't say exactly.
    "Say the Word"

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Honored Elder campy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Klein Innsbruck
    Posts
    7,349
    I did a web search and found that this has happened to other people. The suggested fix is to uninstall and then reinstall IE7 ... but I can't uninstall IE7 unless I first uninstall XP Service Pack 3.

    Maybe upgrading to IE8 would fix things.

    Oh well, between Mozilla and Safari and Opera and Google Chrome, I'm not hurting for browsers.

  4. #4
    Registered User Exalted Member kyojikasshu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Metro Detroit
    Posts
    2,496
    I haven't had any problem with IE8, except that I've had to install the Google Toolbar to import my bookmarks. Because, for some reason, IE7 and IE8 on my computer would say it imported my bookmarks from Firefox, but then it wouldn't display them at all, and I couldn't find them within IE.

    Really, I only use IE for sites with media content that won't work with the other browsers. I only really need it for Netflix, and for radio stations whose streaming audio will only work in IE. (If they'd just shunt the media to Windows Media Player or RealPlayer, like many sites used to just a few years ago, I wouldn't have to do that... but, no, everybody's gotta have proprietary crap these days.)

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Honored Elder campy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Klein Innsbruck
    Posts
    7,349
    Usually when I want IE, I just use the IE Tab add-on for Firefox, which opens IE inside Firefox. The only reason I opened the browser today was because I don't have a shortcut to ARA in Firefox.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Honored Elder campy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Klein Innsbruck
    Posts
    7,349
    Update: I upgraded my IE7 to IE8, but still had the problem. Today I searched for a solution again and this time I found one: deleting a certain key in the Windows Registry seems to have fixed things (so far).

Similar Threads

  1. Odd Computer Behavior (Version 2.0)...
    By TransWarpDrive in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-24-2009, 11:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •