How Was Your Day? The 20th Thread - Page 5
Global Justice Alliance

Page 5 of 51 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 502

Thread: How Was Your Day? The 20th Thread

  1. #41
    Registered User Veteran Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    712
    Just got finished doing some yardwork and now it's time to prep for today's online Fla. history lecture: The Mouse and Beyond...

  2. #42
    Registered User Exalted Member Sentinel103's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO USA
    Posts
    2,137
    Wife is getting stronger, she is able to not need help getting out of the sunken family room and she navigated 3 steps to the basement. Later today we'll take a walk and then maybe add to the number of steps. Next week I think she's going into outpatient physical therapy and she plans to drive herself to a hair dresser's appointment. Maybe by Monday she'll be able to get all the way to the basement (where her computer is).

  3. #43
    Super Moderator Venerated Elder campy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Klein Innsbruck
    Posts
    12,016
    We've got our grandson for the day and will collect our granddaughter from the school bus later.

  4. #44
    Administrator Honored Elder jeriddian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Denton, Texas
    Posts
    8,987
    Great to hear your wife's doing better Sentinel. Another day at work. Slow, very little to do other than catch up on all the paperwork.....er computer work that is.

    Today I finally was able to finish converting all of my computers over to Windows 11. My main computer had an old X99 shipset with an i9-9900 CPU, but it qualified for WIN 11 once I turned on the TPM in the BIOS. My DAW workstation unfortunately was even older. It had an older X99 motherboard but a different socket with an i9-6950 chip which does not qualify for WIN 11. The nice thing is it has 64 Gb RAM of 2400 memory, which ain't the top speed but it ain't bad either. What was convenient is that to upgrade this computer, the only thing I needed was another motherboard and CPU. The i9-6950 is an LGA 2011-v3 socket and the CPU I went for was a socket LGA 2066 unit. The cool thing is I didn't have to get another CPU closed circuit water cooler as it fit both of those sockets. I didn't need a top of the line board either, just one good enough to be able to process WIN 11 without the bells and whistles. So I got an X299 chipset board and a minimally used (so advertised) i9-7980XE which is an 18 core monster. In its heyday in 2017, it was a $2000 CPU, but these days its only about $470. The board was about $260. I also had to buy a separate TPM module I didn't realize I needed for about $80. But that was all. I put these items into the computer and used all the other old parts and Viola! For $900 I now had a super gaming computer, an equivalent I found online selling for about $3000 - $5000. Then I was able to transfer WIN 11 on it successfully. I could actually sell it for more than my total cost in building it in the first place, but I think I may give it to my niece as she likes to do computer gaming. For my DAW, I had to buy a whole new computer with a top of the line i9-12900KF and RTX 3080 video card. I plan to use this for my video and 3D work too instead of the main computer. I used to build these things part by part, but it's actually cheaper now to buy the Prebuilts. I use Microcenter brand of PowerSpec computer. So far, they seem to have worked quite well. The last thing I had to do was buy a new laptop. The one I had was nine years old and could not be upgraded. But I got a good deal on the one I got, I think. An i9-11850 with RTX 3070 and 32Gb RAM in a 17" screen for $1700. This has taken me about four weeks to complete, but now I'm done. Ready to go to work.
    Last edited by jeriddian; 04-17-2022 at 04:59 PM.
    "Say the Word"

  5. #45
    Registered User Exalted Member Sentinel103's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO USA
    Posts
    2,137
    Back in the day I got a Cyberpower gaming computer. It still runs fine and the only gaming I do is free cell. I do play music through it, write and annoy people. I can see that I will need one in the future. My tech guys build 'puters and I pretty much know what I want and they have all my stuff that's on it (they down load it to the cloud a few times a week). If this thing blows up I can just order something better than what I have now for a lot less than I spent on this thing. I have 32 gig on this thing a 500mB SSD and a tera byte hard drive with a couple of DVD reader writers and a 32" monitor.

    I took Linda out to eat this morning, she's getting around better. If it doesn't rain this afternoon she is going for a walk (I think she is plotting my demise...LOL).

  6. #46
    Super Moderator Venerated Elder campy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Klein Innsbruck
    Posts
    12,016
    Laundry and other tasks around the condo. Getting ready to go to California in a couple of days.

  7. #47
    Super Moderator Venerated Elder campy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Klein Innsbruck
    Posts
    12,016
    I packed for the trip to San Francisco. Now Iím at an Easter party at my daughterís house.

  8. #48
    Registered User Exalted Member Sentinel103's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO USA
    Posts
    2,137
    With the wife being able to first go down the steps then later (after fixing all the damage I did to a computer program) she went back up the steps. It was the first time since early Feb. She has more work to do, but she is coming along fine. Therefore, I am happy.

  9. #49
    Administrator Honored Elder jeriddian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Denton, Texas
    Posts
    8,987
    Good to hear, Sentinel. I spent the last two days wiring a new GFCI socket in to my bathroom This one is close to my toilet to provide poewr to the bidet unit. What made it tough was I had to put it inside the side cabinet which meant I had to get down on the floor and go throught the panel doors to get to the back wall behind the cabinet. It was cramped to say the least. The socket I power it from is in the wall on the other side and it was easy to get a line passed through. It was just very hard in that cramped space to get the hole cut and put in a new electrical box, but I finally was able to do it. I put a decorative hole into the side of the cabinet wall to pass the plug through and connect the bidet unit up to the outlet. It looks a lot better than a loose extension cord floating from the outlet on the far wall for hairdryers and shavers and such.
    "Say the Word"

  10. #50
    Registered User Exalted Member Sentinel103's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO USA
    Posts
    2,137
    That's why my brother is an Electrician and I am a Pipefitter. We've done work for each other over the years. My bathrooms don't have room for bidets.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •